My Virtual World


I’m crazy about the virtual world, I like living there when I don’t like it here.. there is so much that I wanted to do but couldn’t. social constraints,stupidity,extreme shyness,hesitation…you name it.

so I guess many of you are acquainted with this game” the sims”. for those who don’t know it, it’s a game where you create people, make them as a family, roommates,brother n sister, or just a couple of friends living together. you can create them as adults, make them get married have kids or adopt,get a divorce if you want them to, go to school,graduate,eat and sleep and eventually,die.

When I start-up the game, it’s not until four-six  hours have passed that I recognize how long I’ve been playing..I became addicted to it to the extent that I lose track of what’s going on with the world around me, I lose track of time, I even forget it when I feel hungry..

when I thought about it a lot, I realized that I was so sick of my surroundings that I drowned myself into this never-ending game, it’s like escaping reality. or smoking marijuana, you are temporarily high and living some place else, but when I shut it down because I can’t open my eyes anymore, I go back to reality. that feeling kills me. you might think I’m exaggerating, but it’s like, I don’t belong here.I wanna be a sim!

by time, things changed for the better, and the reality doesn’t suck as I thought it did. so I never touch the CD and insert it into my laptop anymore, it’s rather silly now. I don’t need the sims, life is good again!

I don’t know if that sounds crazy or not, but I’ve learned only one thing from this game,(not bec. it’s the only thing that I learned,but because I learned something from a game  aimed at shere entertainment and wasting time!)

I’ve learned how to decorate. because you have the option of building houses and furnishing them as well, to someone who had no idea about interior decor or anything related to it, this is a big step!! you get to choose wall paintings,floor tiles…etc

These were some screen shots from my games. I do realise that the idea of the game can be appealing,but this post is not aimed at advertising of any kind. I just wanted to write about that,that’s all.

Although I wish interacting with people was that simple and easy, you just keep telling nice jokes to people, or keep talking about the weather and bam, they’re considered “friends”, if you want to be involved in any romance, just flirt and keep on saying compliments to the other sim, and BAM again, you’re romantically involved, really it doesn’t take that much time to establish relationships, it’s so easy!

you can call them on their mobile and invite them over ,even if they’re acquaintances. does this happen often in reality?? there will be lots of speculation I suppose…people don’t have naive intentions, and mostly think suspiciously of others. it’s a mad world, and am no sane myself, but that’s what my blog is about. Self and Opinion Expression.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miss Sunshine
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 17:34:50

    The sims IS addective. I used to play it myself, but then I watched a movie called ‘surrogates’ staring Bruce Willis. In the movie, most humans are living through robot like creatures called surrogates. They get to look the way they always wanted to look and their real bodies are safe at home plugged into a machine away from any danger.

    Being a sim is like living through a surrogate. You do things you don’t dare do in real life and accomplish things you didn’t accomplish in real life, but at the end of the day, it is not real. And all you do is waste your REAL time. So I quit!

    The worst thing about sims is that it’s not a game you can play for a few minutes. When you are playing, it replaces your real life for hours.

    Reply

    • Yasmine Wael
      Aug 21, 2010 @ 17:50:47

      Yeah I’ve seen the movie too,( and I hated it) it was kind of boring to me, anyways.you’re right. its a time wasting game, but then again so is the rest of the vedio games or even the TV, its a means of entertainment , its just that when you go too far with playing them, then there’s a problem. thanks for replying:):) and miss u loaaads,take care

      Reply

  2. entrapment
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 02:11:53

    i think we all NEED an escape from reality sometimes and we all find something that comforts us to do so!! as long that we actually get a benfit out of watever we do other than escaping i think its totally legit 😀 !!!!

    Reply

  3. sinthea
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 07:28:25

    totally agree with entrapment. 🙂
    we all need some time away from reality.
    just as long as we don’t dwell in the virtual world then it’s ok to get lost in it from time to time. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Personal Journals of Life's Lessons and Experiences Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
script type="text/javascript"> var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-18941955-1']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();


Blogging Women
